Quick & Easy: 1 Hour Stuffed Peppers

Ok, I love cooking but I don’t really have much time with two kids running around, cooking needs to be quick and easy! This recipe is great for me because it was simple and only took about 10-15 minutes to prep, and then in the oven it went to cook for about 45 minutes while I played with my kiddos!

I can’t take all the credit, my dad is a great chef and gave me his recipe to try, and I made a few adjustments for our family. Garlic & parsley were my additions that you can certainly leave out, and he added capers and we did not. Also, you could substitute mozzarella cheese in place of the goat cheese (I’m not big on fancy cheese, but I did like this), or another kind of meat in place of the bratwurst.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Bell Peppers
  • 1 Pack of Bratwurst
  • Spinach, 1/2 bag
  • Goat Cheese, 2 oz
  • Parmesan Cheese, 2 oz
  • Sun Dried Tomatoes, 4 oz (1/2 the jar)
  • Garlic, 4-5 cloves (optional)
  • Parsley (optional)

*I do most of my shopping at Trader Joes, but you can get these products anywhere*

Directions: 

Start with the Bratwurst: split them and remove the meat from the sausage packing. Cook in a frying pan until cooked through.

In a food processor or blender (I used my Ninja blender) add the spinach, goat cheese, parmesan, sun dried tomatoes, garlic & parsley and blend to desired consistency. Mine was almost creamy, but you want all the ingredients to be chopped. Transfer to a medium sized bowl.

Pour the bratwurst into the food processor/blender and blend until it is finely chopped. Add into the bowl with spinach mixture and mix well.

Cut the tops off the bell peppers and remove the seeds. Fill the peppers with the meat & spinach mixture, and replace the tops.

I drizzled them with light olive oil and then covered with foil. Roast or bake at 375 for about 45 minutes. Since the meat is already cooked you are just heating the rest and cooking the pepper. At the end I sprinkled some extra parmesan on top and broiled for the last few minutes.

This recipe was enough for 4 peppers, and they are pretty filling, so we had the leftovers for dinner the next night.

Leave a Reply

