DIY Fall Wreath & Pumpkins

Photo Oct 05, 12 16 50 PM

Continuing my mission towards creating some curb appeal for our porch, and getting in the fall spirit, my next project was making a wreath for our front door and some cute wooden ‘pumpkins’ to display.

I had seen similar ideas for these ‘pumpkins’ on Pinterest, but made these ones my own by changing them up a bit and using materials I already had at home. We had some blocks of wood left over from another project, so I had my husband cut them to the heights I wanted (I think 10, 12 & 14 inches) and I sanded them so they would be semi smooth, they didn’t need to be perfect since they are outdoor decor and meant to look rustic. I covered them in a layer of dark wood stain so that it would show through the paint a bit and once dry, I painted them orange. I decided to paint them kind of messy so the stain would show through and they would look distressed without having to go back and sand them again. For the stems I used wine corks and painted them brown, some extra burlap I had from a previous project made leaves, and finally some fall bows finished them off. Since I had all the materials this didn’t cost us anything, and other than drying time this was a super quick project that has added lots of curb appeal to our porch.

Photo Oct 05, 12 17 15 PM

Next I moved on to the wreath. Similar wreaths at the store could cost upwards of $50+, but by doing it myself I spent about $20 and designed it exactly how I wanted.

The hubby and I went out to Michaels and chose an 18’ grapevine wreath for $5 to start our project. Next we chose the floral décor. We decided on a base of greenery that would have that hanging look and since we were making it seasonal for fall we chose some floral stems with fall leaves and pumpkins.

IMG_4266I used hot glue to secure them and we decided that it should be slightly offset. Finally for the focal point I added a few larger ivory flowers and of course a burlap bow to finish it off! I found this tutorial on Pinterest for the bow, and just edited the measurements to make it a bit smaller.

IMG_4273

IMG_4361

One step closer to a festive and welcoming porch!


Photo Oct 05, 12 15 46 PM

Leave a Reply

